Sex and the State
Sex and the State Podcast
Colin Campbell started his own secular religion
1
0:00
-38:30

Colin Campbell started his own secular religion

1

Start writing today. Use the button below to create your Substack and connect your publication with Sex and the State

Start a Substack

Welcome to Sex and the State, a newsletter about human connection. To support my life’s work, upgrade to a paid subscription, buy one of my guides, follow me on OnlyFans, follow me on Twitter, support me on Patreon, or just share this post 🙏

~~~~~

Research shows religious people are healthier and live longer on average than non-religious people. According to Loneliness, one meta analysis shows it’s going to church regularly, not religious faith or a healthier lifestyle, that gives religious people their edge. (If you haven’t, check out my Twitter thread about the book and recent interview with one of the authors).

As I wrote not too long ago, church is a great way to make friends, and the main source of civic society for most of the US, according to Alienated America.

Trying to take my own advice, I went to church not too long ago with my sister. I had to leave during the sermon when he started talking about Paul’s “If a man doesn’t work he shall not eat.” Which, like Paul telling women to cover their heads in church, or discussing who owed who money, was obviously about a specific group of people at a specific time, not a valid basis for universal ethics or public policy. After all Jesus said feed the hungry, and never once mentioned work requirements. Fuck. That. Shit.

So what’s a person to do if they want all the social support, civil society, and longevity of religious faith without all the bullshit?

Enter Aretéanism, a secular religion started by Colin Campbell. In our in-depth interview, Colin told me he noticed that religious revival was one of the few ways civilizations have rebounded throughout history. Noticing that the existing religions lacked a lot of good stuff and were full of a lot of bad stuff, he created his own. Check out our interview below:

To learn more about the church and Colin, email contact@areteanism.org.

1 Comment
Sex and the State
Sex and the State Podcast
A podcast which is me reading you my newsletter about power.